WNBA Announces Star-Studded 2021 All-WNBA First Team

Ahead of tonight’s Game 3 of the 2021 WNBA Finals, the 2021 All-WNBA First Team was announced by the league.

Connecticut Sun forward and 2021 WNBA MVP Jonquel Jones was the only unanimous selection amongst the All-WNBA First Team.

Jones is joined by the Seattle Storm’s Breanna Stewart and Jewell Loyd, along with the Phoenix Mercury’s Brittney Griner and Skylar Diggins-Smith.

Earning the honor for the first time, Jones received all 49 votes from a national panel of sportswriters and broadcasters after averaging 19.4 points, 11.2 rebounds, 1.3 blocks and 1.3 steals per game.

Diggins-Smith received the second-highest amount of First Team votes with 37 after averaging 17.7 points and 5.3 assists per game this season.

Griner finished with the third-most votes (31), after averaging 20.5 points and a career-high 9.5 boards a game.

Diggins-Smith and Griner joined Stewart in receiving the honor for a third time. Stewart—the 2018 WNBA MVP—would average 20.3 points, 9.6 rebounds and 1.7 blocks per game in 2021.

Source link

You might like

About the Author: NBA NEWS SITE

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *